Not Your College Dorm Ramen!

Ryan and I watched a TV show a few weeks ago where a chef went around and tasted different ramen recipes at various restaurants.  Since then, I have been thinking about it, obsessing over it, and trying to find the best of the twin cities ramen!  In fact, we have a promise that our next date night will be at a local restaurant known for their ramen.  ( I can’t wait!  Babysitter anyone?!)

So I was ecstatic when just the other day a friend of mine posted on FB that his wife had just made homemade ramen for them.  Luckily, she was kind enough to send me her favorite recipe.  I tried it the same day!  I told you I was obsessed. 🙂

It. Was. Amazing. (I modified it a little bit to keep my own touches.  I have always said a recipe is a guideline, not a rule.  This is why I rarely bake.  Baking has lots of rules. I digress…)

So on the next cold, wintry day,  I suggest you make this recipe and use chopsticks.  It is comforting, slurpy, messy, goodness.

Not Your Dorm Room Ramen!

Ingredients:

2 T sesame oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 inch fresh ginger, minced
1 cup shiitake mushrooms
4 cups chicken broth
3 cups water
1 T miso paste
2 T garlic, chili paste
1 cup shredded carrots
1 cup celery
3 cups fresh spinach
1 cup fresh bean sprouts
2 cups shredded chicken (I used rotisserie.)
3 packages Yaki-soba or Anna Chung ramen-  discard flavor packets (approx 5 ounce servings/package)
2 eggs, soft-boiled
1 bunch green onion, diced
Handful fresh parsley

Heat oil in large soup pot.
Add garlic and ginger and saute for 2 minutes.
Add mushrooms, chicken stock, water, miso, garlic paste, celery, and carrots.
Bring to boil and then simmer for 5-10 minutes.
Add spinach, bean sprouts, ramen noodles and chicken in the last few minutes of cooking.

Garnish with soft-boiled egg, green onions, and parsley.

image

 

Original recipe modified from:  http://damndelicious.net/2014/10/13/easy-homemade-ramen/

Yes, there are a lot of ingredients here.  BUT, you can modify it or just do what I did. and make an Asian inspired salad with the left over rotisserie chicken and veggies the next night.  Like this one here.

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in pasta, soups and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not Your College Dorm Ramen!

  1. Kamila says:

    Thank you for sharing all these amazing and truly delicious recipes! We’d be happy to build a partnership with such a dedicated food blogger and get you promoted at our official FB with over 22K followers. Please visit our website to learn more about the opportunities you may get with us: http://talktochef.com/howitworks/affiliates . Feel free to contact me for any additional information.
    Thank you!
    Kamila

Leave a Reply

