Butternut Squash, Beef and Mushroom Stuffed Peppers

wpid-IMAG0189.jpgIngredients~

4 red bell peppers
1# ground beef
12 ounce bag of cubed butternut squash (or half a squash)
1/2 yellow onion
1 cup mushrooms
sea salt & pepper to taste
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp oregano

Cut peppers in half and remove stems and seeds.
Place flesh side down on pan.
Broil on high for 4-5 minutes.
Remove and reserve.

Brown ground beef in pan.
Stir in all the spices.
Place squash, mushrooms, and onions in food processor and chop.
Add above chopped veggies to beef and saute until soft.

Scoop beef and veggie mix into the pepper halves.
Top with a little fresh parmesan cheese (Shhh, I won’t tell if you don’t!)
Broil for another 4-5 minutes and voila, dinner is served!

This took me about 30 minutes total to make.   SO, no excuses!
I made it after breakfast so my boys and I would have a healthy dinner tonight.  wpid-IMAG0190.jpg
I am working tonight, and the temptation to order out is too easy.
If I prepare meals ahead, I am less likely to slip up.
You can do this too.  Just be prepared.

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

