Chocolate Donuts *grain-free *gluten-free

Yes, I am still alive.
Yes, I have been a terrible blogger lately.
I have just been busy with the holiday bustle, work and life.  (AND a little unmotivated, and uninspired.) 😦

wpid-IMG_20131205_163706.jpg
I just haven’t had any great recipes to post and really didn’t think anyone wanted to here about me lifting weights in my basement or riding my bike on the trainer to some early 2000’s Spinervals DVD’s 🙂
Or did you?! If so, let me know.  I could gladly post some pics of me sweating like a pig and cursing at the TV.  AND, I know you all want to see some pics of Ryan in his spandex and headband 😉 I digress…

Today I made some pretty amazing little chocolate donuts for breakfast.  These were worth sharing!

Ingredients:
1/4 c coconut oil (or butter)
1/3 c  honey
1/3 c unsweetened cocoa powder
3 eggs
3/4 c almond flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
dash of sea salt
1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar

Melt the coconut oil and add in the honey.  Whisk together well.
Next add the cocoa powder and whisk again. (This part got a little messy for me and some choice words were said!  Be careful.)
Add one egg at a time and combine.
Next add almond flour, baking soda, sea salt, and vinegar.

I used our mini-donut maker to make our batch, but you could also bake them in the oven if you have a donut pan.  It would be at 350F for around 12-15minutes.

I dunked ours in some chocolate glaze- see recipe below- and topped with coconut flakes, almond slivers and sprinkles.  These were a huge hit with the boys (young and old)!wpid-IMG_20131215_100741.jpg

Chocolate glaze:
2 T coconut oil, melted
2 T honey
unsweetened cocoa powder (approx 2 T)

Mix the coconut oil and honey and gradually add the cocoa powder until it reaches the consistency you want.  I let it sit for a few moments to make it a little thicker and easier to turn upside down and dip in the toppings.  Enjoy!

*original recipe at glutenfreefix.com

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in breakfast, Kids Meals, Paleo and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chocolate Donuts *grain-free *gluten-free

  1. Look really yummy! Hear you on the unmotivated uninspired to blog thing. Glad to see the post…now if I could do the same!

  2. Looks delicious – and pretty too! I’ll have to give them a try.

Leave a Reply

