Turn a setback into a comeback

run

I have been feeling a little guilty about my lack of running lately.  Maybe it was the fact that by this point in time last year, I already trained for and completed 2 half marathons and a 10k.  Maybe it was the FACT that my 800 meter “cool down” run after Thursday’s crossfit session felt horrible.  800 meters.  1/2 mile.  Seriously.

I know I shouldn’t look back at last year.  I knew I wasn’t going to concentrate on running this year, BUT I also really thought I would try to maintain a good 6 mile running base.  I haven’t.  The most I have run the past month is my 1/2 mile after crossfit and then 1 mile yesterday.  AND, I only ran yesterday to prove to myself that I wasn’t a total running failure.  One stinkin’ mile.  I NEED to start running again.  (The weird part is that I actually kind of miss it… shhh, don’t tell anyone that I am admitting this out loud.)

I think the part that kills me the most is that I haven’t gained any speed on my bike either.  I thought if I concentrated more on cycling, I would naturally just get faster, stronger.  Nope.  I am at best the same as last year and quite possibly, gulp, slower.  😦

BUT, as the saying above says, I AM NOT where I started.  Phew.  My body is still changing.  My eating habits are dialed in.  (90% of the time anyway.)  AND, I have been doing a lot (some weeks).  For instance, this past week was GREAT!  I rode 124 miles, ran 1 mile and did 1 hour of crossfit for 9 hours of total exercise!

I guess I just need to keep plugging away.  Putting in the miles.   I think I can.  I think I can.  I will.

 

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in crossfit, cycling, random thoughts, running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

