Be the person your kid thinks you are…

First of all, I apologize to the people who follow my blog that got an email saying I posted something earlier. My wordpress app on my phone decided to upload my post without saving it as a draft for me to edit. AND when I say my wordpress app did that, I mean me! My fingers got button happy 🙂

We have all seen this, right?!
image

My dogs do think I am pretty great. I mean no one else greats me at the door, tail wagging, no matter what time of day or night it is. Seriously, Ryan, you should do this too 😉

You have to admit, it is not that hard to make a dog happy. Feed it. Love it. Snuggle it. Walk it. Play with it. Kids are lot tougher to satisfy. There is more on the line. You need to watch everything you say with the fear that the f-bomb you dropped in the kitchen when you spilled something doesn’t come back to haunt you during teacher conferences. (This is a real fear in my house.) You need to be a role model. You can’t just eat McDonald’s, avoid all veggies, and not workout. Well you can, but then don’t be surprised when your kid is over-weight and not active.

I try really hard to be a good role model for my kids. Some days it works. Some days, well, not so much.

image

image

image

I wish I was half as great as this Mother’s Day card says!

It just shows how my actions are interpreted by my boys. They see me out there doing some sort of physical activity every day and clearly it impacts them. I just hope that in the future, when they are older, they will also still be out there doing something active that they love too!

Are you being a good role model for your kids? If not, you better start now. They are watching you.

I may not have a lot of QOM’s on Strava. I may not be able to get my half marathon under 2:00 (yet!). I may not be the strongest person at CrossFit. (That actually made me LOL..since I am probably one of the weakest!)

BUT, in the eyes of boys, I am great (and fast on my bike) = Winning.

(ps. I am not a doctor.) 🙂

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in random thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

