My first Crossfit experience

You may be wondering, “what in the world is crossfit?”.

Crossfit by definition is “constantly varied functional movements performed at relatively high intensity”.  It primarily uses a mix of aerobic exercise, body weight exercise, gymnastics and Olympic weight lifting.  crossf
We have been throwing around the idea of starting this for a long time.  In fact, we have been doing some home “crossfit” workouts for the past few months.  (Which, by the way, don’t even compare to the true crossfit intensity!) A few weeks ago a local gym, MN Top Team, offered a deal too good to pass up.  SO, we took the plunge.  *Gulp*  10 sessions here we come!

Thursday night was our first night.  I was terrified.  Thankfully, Ryan was able to go with me.  Thanks babe!  The first three classes are “Fundamentals” where the first 30 minutes they discuss what crossfit is, go over the terminology and demonstrate some of the fundamental movements/lifting techniques.  The last half of the class is where they kick your ass your WOD (aka work-out of the day).

Our WOD was this:
AMRAP ( As many rounds/reps as possible) in 10 minutes
40 squats
30 sit-ups
20 push-ups
10 pull-ups

Doesn’t seem horrible, right?!  10 tiny minutes.
WRONG. Very wrong.  It was HARD.

I made in through two rounds, plus 40 extra squats and 25 sit-ups.

I was the slowest person out of the 6 in the group.
I was also unable to do the pull-ups, even with the green assisted band.
Yup, I am weak.  BUT, I am going to do 9 more sessions and get stronger.  Yes. I. Am.

Side note:  I haven’t walked with this much pain since my first half-marathon.  Holy crap that was an intense 10 minutes.  It is 2 days later.  Still hurting. cross

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in crossfit and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My first Crossfit experience

  1. Ann Rausch says:

    I can do about 2 pull-ups. I always practice when I take Henry to the park.

Leave a Reply

