Don’t let it steal your joy

Today I set out on my fourth, sad but true, road ride of the year.  I have to admit the first three were not stellar.  Sure, it was great to be out of the confines of my basement and back in the open air.  But, in the air, there are hills to climb and headwinds… I just felt sluggish. 

TODAY was different. Better. 

The weather was perfect.  70°, sunny, and virtually no wind.  A cyclist dream day.  I set out on my St. Paul loop with not a care in the world. Just me and my bike.  It was great. The hills seemed easy, even the high bridge! Maybe it was the sunny skies, maybe the hint of green buds on the trees, or maybe it just was that every part of the ride just clicked.

I pull in the driveway. Smiling. Happy.
29 miles done.

AND then I check my Garmin for the official stats (does everyone else do this too?), 1:43:52, 16.5mph average pace. Sigh.

For a brief moment I felt my joy leave me…

image

Then I remembered that it was sunny and warm. I was out there enjoying it while doing my favorite thing, riding my bike.  AND joy prevailed  🙂

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

