Happy Birthday Dad

Dad. DAD! Daaaad. Such a simple word, but it means more to me than you will ever know. I haven't been able to speak those words to my Dad in a very long time. In fact, right now, it feels like forever ago.

It used to mean simpler things like, "Dad, can I have $20?"

Or, "DAD! There is a centipede in the bathtub."

Or, "Daaaad, are you coming to kill this thing? I am freaking out here."
(Anyone who knows me can picture this scenario.)

But now…
It is mainly a brief passing thought. A quiet whisper. A tear rolling down my cheek during a country song. A conversation with my boys about what a great guy their Grandpa was. A picture in a frame. A boat ride at the cabin. A smirk when Ryan is driving and waves at random neighbors in cars…just like he did 🙂 The way I crave the smell of Captain Black pipe tobacco and can't help but take a big breath in and hold it when I smell it.

Happy 69th Birthday Dad! I miss you.

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Birthday Dad

  1. Renee says:

    Wish he was here to share the joy of the most beautiful family ever! I know he is watching, he is smiling and he is so proud of YOU.

Leave a Reply

