Paleo Bread

Who doesn’t like a good slice of bread?  Especially straight out of the oven.  All warm and toasty…Mmmmm.  I haven’t tried making any “sandwichy” (I don’t care what you say, that is a real word.) breads since starting paleo in October.  Yesterday was the day.  I just craved a warm slice of bread with a little peanut butter.  Sometimes a girl just knows what she needs wants 🙂

I found this recipe here and thought I would give it a try.  How bad could it be? Right? Right.

Ingredients:
2 cups almond flour
2T coconut flour
1/4 cup ground flax seed
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
5 eggs
1T coconut oil, melted
1T honey
1T apple cider vinegar

  • Mix dry ingredients together well in your KitchenAid or food processor .
  • Add oil, honey, and vinegar.  Next add eggs.
  • Combine well.
  • Pour into well-greased loaf pan.  (If using a glass pan like I did, next time I would line with parchment paper instead of greasing.  It stuck a little to the bottom.)
  • Sprinkle the top with sesame seeds and sea salt.
  • Bake at 350°F for 30 minutes.

image

Original recipe found at elanaspantry.com

Note:  The original recipe is for a 7.5 x 3.5 magic line loaf pan.  I do not own one.  I just used my standard glass loaf pan.  The bread only came up about half way in the pan, which was fine for me.  I have read other people’s suggestions on how to prevent this from happening.  It sounds as simple as doubling the ingredients and time in the oven works great if you want a truly bread-like slice for sandwiches.  (Although I would suggest you cover lightly with aluminum foil after 30 minutes.  Otherwise, the top will burn.) I might try that approach next time.  Let me know if you do.  I am curious to see how it would turn out.

This bread is a lot like the consistency of banana bread without the sweet.  So if you are not interested in that texture, this recipe is not for you.  I am not 100% convinced it is the best one out there, but I was able to make it with ingredients I had in my pantry, which is always a plus.

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in breakfast, lunch, Paleo, Pre-ride food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

