Zucchini Lasagna

Let’s face it.  It has been a long winter! It is the end of April, and I am finding myself craving “comfort” food.  We should be grilling steaks and fish, eating on the deck after a two hour bike ride. Anything at all, but eating lasagna and lighting a fire! Inside.

We haven’t had lasagna all winter, and Carson has been asking for it. Mainly because how in the world do you make lasagna that is paleo legal?!

Let me introduce you to, zucchini noodles—>

image

I just used these in place of my noodles.  Surprisingly delicious!

I used 2# grass-fed ground beef, mixed with 1 chopped yellow onion and 1 red pepper.  Add a little fresh garlic and oregano and simmer until veggies are softened. 

image

Next add your favorite spaghetti sauce, homemade or store-bought.  When using pre-made, I prefer this brand since there are all only 5 ingredients and I know what they are!

And start layering.

image

I do a thin layer of non-meat sauce on the bottom of the pan first.

Next is noodles zucchini.

Then meat sauce.

Here is where it gets non-paleo…a thin later of cottage cheese sprinkled with mozzarella.  I won’t tell if you don’t.   😉

image

Next up zucchini, then meat sauce, mozzarella, zucchini, meat sauce, etc… (I only do one layer with cottage cheese.)

image

Bake at 375°F for 45 minutes.  Enjoy.
image
image

(The water in the zucchini makes it a bit runny, but I promise it is delicious.)

I am sure you could make this without the cheese, but somethings just need cheese. Pizza. Quesadillas.  Lasagna. Cheese curds. 🙂 Right?!

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Healthy meals, paleo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zucchini Lasagna

  1. Renee says:

    Not sure how you do it, but you always make my mouth water!!!

Leave a Reply

