Start seeing things a little different

This was too good to not share with you all.  If you’re a parent, you need to read this: http://rachelmariemartin.blogspot.com/2013/01/10-way-to-start-seeing-little-things-in.html 

This hit home with me today.  I have been a little too short with the boys lately…I don’t know why.  Maybe I am frustrated about working more and playing less.  Maybe it’s the fact that their little mouths have been a little to persnickety lately.  Maybe I just need a break from this freakishly cold weather.  Who knows?!

What I do know is that whatever it is, it is not their fault, but I am taking it out on them.  I also know that in less than 2 months my 2# baby will be SIX!  My first-born will be heading into 3rd grade in fall.  Where does it all go?  I don’t want them to grow up.  Really.  I don’t.

I was looking through some old photos last night, mainly from when they were around 1 and 3yrs old.  The innocence.  The smiles.  The crazy time that flew by all too soon.  In some ways, I barely remember it.  The sleepless nights.  The rocking chair…oh I miss the rocking chair and neck snuggles.  Even the way they smell is different now.  Not bad. (Yet 🙂 )  Just different. 

I know each chapter and age will be great.  I love watching their brains figure out math problems and learn about the world in a new way.  I love the new-found freedom of their independence.  I love seeing them interact with friends.  I do.  I just need to remind myself of it now and again.

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in random thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

