Tabata! Time!

What is Tabata?
It is a HIIT (high intensity interval training) workout where you go as hard as you can for 20 seconds and follow it with 10 seconds rest. Than repeat that 7 more times.
You should be at 100% maximum intensity during the 20 seconds of work, and when the 4 minutes is up, you should be spent.

Why do it?
It is worth it!  Experts state it can increase your aerobic capacity, VO2 max, resting metabolic rate, and help you burn more fat than a traditional 60 minute aerobic workout. 

Here is what you need:
A good interval timer app and some exercises to do. I like this one and it’s free! 

image

I did these all for 8 rounds and was wrecked afterwards.
Do 4 minutes of each exercise at a time. (8 rounds of pushups, followed by 8 rounds of squats, etc…)
Pushups
Squats
Situps (cross fit style)
Jumping jacks
Back extensions
Lunges (alternating legs)

24 minutes of hard work. (Pushups were by far the hardest for me.)

image

 
Have you ever done a HIIT workout?
My favorite spin instructor used to do a tabata session every class.  It was brutal.  In a good way 🙂

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Home workouts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tabata! Time!

  1. Ann Rausch says:

    Okay, so you’ll do push ups for 20 seconds, rest, do squats for 20 seconds, rest – etc etc? Does the app beep at you to tell you time is up?

    • Do pushups for 20sec, rest for 10 sec, and then do 7 more rounds of pushups and rest. Then start the next exercise, like squats.
      The timer rings when set is over and when you should start.

  2. Ann Rausch says:

    Got it. And is the app you are referring to just an android one or can I find it for an iphone?

  3. Renee says:

    Try not to bother me when I’m in the middle of my Tabata.

  4. Leah says:

    Yay, I love HIIT workouts! Great quote by the way. 🙂 What is the name of the app you use? I couldn’t find it in the post.

  5. Ann Rausch says:

    Holy crap the push ups and I can’t do those cross-fit sit ups. But on another note, I made the pizza – very good. I was surprised at how well that crust works.

    • The pushups are horrible and you’re right the Situps are super hard too!
      I am glad you liked the pizza. Did Henry like it too?
      Random question, what do you do with the pork shoulder steaks? I am thinking slow cooker carnitas?

      • Ann Rausch says:

        Henry did like it. I am going to plan to make it again this weekend since I have more cauliflower to use up. I sent the recipe to my sister-in-law who is a gluten free person, which reminds me I should tell my father-in-law as well.

        Jon always cooks the pig meat, but yes, I think most of the time he does the crock pot thing with that portion. He just made a pulled pork recipe with vinegar and other seasoning that we served with a side of cole slaw (I just mix mine all together). I think I have also pinned a couple of recipes – one I believe was mixed with black beans.

Leave a Reply

