Paleo Apple Fritters

Growing up, my grandma used to make apple fritters for dessert every once and awhile.  AND man were they good. However, they were made with white flour and white sugar…two things I haven’t eaten in over a year.

Yesterday morning was the last day of winter break for my boys, so I decided to make the most of it and get up early sleep in and make a special breakfast for them. 🙂

Apple Fritters-modified to Paleo

Ingredients:
3 apples, cored and sliced in rings

Dough: (makes amazing pancakes too)
4 eggs, beaten for 1-2 minutes
1 cup coconut milk, full fat
2 tsp vanilla
1 T honey
(Mix above in small bowl)
1/2 cup coconut flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
(whisk dry ingredients to remove clumps in flour and add the wet, combine til smooth)

image

On hot griddle, add 1 tsp coconut oil.
Dunk apple slices in batter and place on griddle. 

image

Flip halfway thru cooking.  These brown easily so I turn the heat down to medium once I start cooking.

image

Serve warm and drizzled with pure maple syrup.

*Grandma used to dip hers in white sugar and cinnamon, but that isn’t how I roll anymore 😉 Maple syrup was delicious!

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in breakfast, Kids Meals, paleo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Paleo Apple Fritters

  1. Leah says:

    These sound delicious! Can’t wait to give em a try one weekend morning. Thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

  2. sammysamgurl says:

    Omg commented on your pizza recipe and happened to see these..weird coincidence because I was actually looking for a good paleo apple fritter recipe and I think I just found it! They look sooo yummy. Do you happen to know how many the recipe makes? I would need to shrink it for myself!

Leave a Reply

