African Chicken Stew- Paleo

While we were at our cabin last weekend, we stopped at a local coffee shop/cafe and had a surprisingly great lunch called African Chicken Peanut Stew.  I asked the owner what was in the stew, mainly to see how many paleo rules we would be breaking, and was excited to hear it was legal.  Okay, kinda legal…there were peanuts and peanut butter in it.  (I don’t worry so much about peanuts, but if you do, just substitute cashews and almond butter out for the peanuts and peanut butter.) More importantly he gave me the list of ingredients they used and I modified it to meet our tastes.

It was fabulous and the boys LOVED it!

Ingredients:
1 onion, chopped
1 inch fresh ginger, peeled and minced
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
1# chicken breasts
2 sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
28 ounce can of diced tomatoes
5 cups chicken broth
1/2-1 cup raw peanuts (or cashews)
1/4 cup peanut butter *I eyeballed it so it may have been a bit more. (You could sub almond butter here.)
1 cup shredded carrots
1 T cumin
1/2-1 T cayenne pepper
Sea salt and pepper to taste
Handful of kale to garnish

I threw everything but the peanut butter and kale in my crockpot before bed and woke up to amazing smells, stew, and dinner made! 

The only thing I did in the morning was add the peanut butter and use a potato masher to gently mash the soup to crush the sweet potatoes up a bit and shred the chicken. 

image

image

I added a handful of kale to my bowl right before serving.

image

Yum!

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in soups and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to African Chicken Stew- Paleo

  1. This sounds lovely! 🙂

  2. African stew looks pretty good. Lots of ingredietns though… I like to make simple easy to make recipes.

  3. Katie McCaskey says:

    Delicious and easy. I put all the peanut butter in the crockpot without hassle. Thank you for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

