Chequamegon 40 Race Weekend Recap

Celebrating 30 years of fat!

First and foremost, I am so thankful to have had the chance to race again this year.  The Chequamegon 40 is a lottery entry race.  4000+ people attempt to get one of the 1800 (ish) coveted spots every year.  Lucky for me, I got one!
image

Ryan and I have been coming to Hayward, WI for the Fat Tire Festival the past 7 years, and let me tell you, it is a great, GREAT time.  It is OUR weekend away from the kids in the Northwoods with our bestest friends.  The people who support our active lifestyle, compete with us, encourage us, inspire us, ride with us, and sometimes (always for me) beat us!  For this I am Thankful!  You guys rock!

Hello Hayward!  How can you go wrong when you are welcomed by this view~

image

Ryan and I on race morning:
image

Race morning is always crazy! I mean, seriously, do you see all these bikes?

The mass roll-out began as usual…

3 miles of road and you hit Rosie’s Field. (The hills begin here and do not quit til the bitter end, 37 miles later!)

I felt pretty lousy through Rosie’s Field and up to about mile 5, and then I warmed up and my lungs quit screaming at me (aka wheezing).

All in all, I felt stronger than last year and climbed my way up every hill (except one where there was a crash half way up in front of me and I was forced to get off and walk) until Fire Tower.

I honestly think I could conquer this beast if I was out there alone.  Seriously.  I do.  But on race day, I am forced to get off and do the walk of shame up the hill.

This is where it all fell apart.  Again.  Ugh! The last 10 miles of this race, in particular miles 31-33 and 38-39.5, suck!  The steep and short hills killed me.  Again.*Yes, I stole some photos- do not tell on me!*

Thoughts going through my head:  Why didn’t I practice more climbing?  Maybe if I lost 15-20# I could get up this shit easier?
I can’t believe I didn’t improve at all!

Finish time: 3:53!

Same exact time as last year.  Last year I was okay with this pace.  Not this year.  I wanted 3:30.  Hell, even 3:52!

No excuses, I was not well prepared.  I didn’t do the work off-road and on the hills.  I didn’t deserve a better time.

It was, however, a fabulous time!  I LOVE and hate this race.  It is hard.  It is furious.  It is FUN!

It even has pirates.  And, they showed up to our after race party at the airstream.
image

A shout out is deserved to Jon and Joanna for another great party!

Next year…I will get faster! I will train.  I will have a mountain bike all summer, not just one month before the race. Promise.

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling, Races. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chequamegon 40 Race Weekend Recap

  1. Renee says:

    Sometimes (most times) “life” gets in the way of the things we want or need to do. You continue to inspire because you continue to TRY. You are a great mother, wife, nurse, sister, daughter, cook, etc. You cannot beat up on yourself because you have to make time for training. You are one amazing girl!

  2. Pingback: Are you thinking about 2013 yet? | spinningitall

  3. Pingback: Start dialing in your fitness… | spinningitall

Leave a Reply

