Focus on the task at hand.

Do you read Runner’s World?  If you are a geek like me, you do.  I seem to think that this little magazine will somehow give me the “magic” information on how to become a better runner.  Not just better, but faster too.  Ridiculous theory, right?

This month’s edition is all about half-marathons.  It has some great advice:  Mile repeats at race pace, Finding hills on your route and running them, Negative splits, Running slower on the long days…

So far, it hasn’t helped as bit.  Maybe because I haven’t done any of the above.  Ha!

I think the real issue is commitment.  The only way to become a better runner is to run more.  Run faster.

BUT, the only way to become a better cyclist is to also bike more.  How do you triathletes do it?!  I can’t figure out how to juggle 2 sports, much less 3!

I think I need to focus more on the task at hand.  Keeping the”A” races in the immediate radar, while continuing to train for the next upcoming event.  Focus.

My next race is the Minneapolis Duathlon.  I want to do well, but it is not an “A” race. The focus: picking up my bike pace and adding some brick workouts to my routine.  Immediately.

I have two “A” races following this one:  Chequamegon and Monster Dash Half.  I have BIG goals for both of these races.  The focus:  endurance and consistency.  Hills.  Hills.  Hills.

I need to keep my “A” races as a priority and trust that by training for them, I will do well at the Du in August.

Time to stop reading about getting faster.  Time to start getting faster.  Focus.

 

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling, Races, running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Focus on the task at hand.

  1. Pingback: T-minus 2 days until the Minneapolis Duathlon | spinningitall

Leave a Reply

