A note to my dad…

Dear Dad~

Happy Father’s Day!  Can you believe it has been 12 years since you have been gone?  It seems like only yesterday at times and other days, like today, an eternity.

I hate this day.  Not Father’s Day, June 17th.  It is the day you left too soon.  I was not prepared for the hurt or the loss it has created in my life, but I guess no one ever is.

I hope you can see us down here on earth.  I hope that someway, somehow, you see how far I have come.  My family.  My life.  Your grandchildren.  I hope you are proud.

Don’t worry about me.  I have a great man.  You only met him once…but you knew, like I knew.  He is the only reason I can smile again on Father’s Day.

He is the BEST Papa to our boys.  He has taught them patience…I still struggle with that.  He has taught them to reason.  To be good to others.  To love what you do at all costs.  To fish.  To ride bikes.  To build a fire at the cabin.  To spoil their Mama.   So many things…

I wish you were a part of it all.  Our lives.

I guess in way you are.  You are the reason we live like we do, eat like we do, exercise like we do.  I want to make the most out of each day, each moment.  I want to be strong and healthy.  I want to grow old with my husband.  Watch my grandchildren grow up.

There are no guarantees, I know.  But I will be damn sure that if I am taken too soon, it will not be my own neglect.  I don’t want my kids to feel this sorrow.

I am here to prove genetics wrong.  I am finding my strong. I am seizing each day.  I am creating memories each moment.

I miss you terribly.  Today.  Everyday.

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A note to my dad…

  1. Ann says:

    Very sweet.

  2. Lisa says:

    LIKE! I miss my dad, too….

Leave a Reply

