Minneapolis (half) Marathon Race Recap

The first thing I would like to say about this race is that Team Ortho put on a great event.  The packet pick-up was quick and painless, bag-drop and start was organized, the course was beautiful (but kind of hilly), there were plenty of water stops, and the finish area/gear pick-up was well orchestrated.  A special kudos goes out to all the great volunteers on and off the course 🙂image

I don’t really know what to tell you about my race.  I went into this with less training than normal.  My longest run was 9.5 miles.  I was only running twice a week the past few weeks.  I didn’t feel prepared.  At.  All.  BUT, I wasn’t throwing out the possibility of a PR all together.  Let’s face it. Running is like a roller-coaster.  Lots of ups and downs.  Some of my best runs were on days I felt like crap before I headed out the door.  I was just committed to run my own race. Period.

Race morning was the usual stuff:  oatmeal, banana, coffee, a few jitters, a couple stops at the porta-potties, and lining up with a group way faster than my normal pace.  Something was a little different though this time around.  I was tired.  So tired that I really just thought about my bed and sleeping, not racing.  I have been sick the past week…maybe that is why?  Either way, it wasn’t a great feeling heading into the start line.

The first few miles were fine until around mile 4 when I had to use the porta-potty.  I had to pee.  Bad.  So bad that it almost killed me to wait in line for 3 minutes!  I watched my progress thus far run by as I waited…the 1:55 pace group, the 2:00 pace group.  Ugh.

At this point I kind of felt defeated.  Still over-whelmingly tired.  I thought about just DNF’ing.  As I started back running, my lungs burned and I couldn’t stop coughing.  I still had the 2:00 pacer in my sight, but then they faded away.  I gave myself permission to walk.  This was my number 1 mistake.

So I walked up the hills and through the water stops and sometimes in between.  Ugh.  I gave up on myself.  That. Is.  Not. Acceptable.

I wanted to quit so many times throughout this race, but was inspired by all those around me, I had to keep moving forward. Watching the full marathoners run by, seeing the people who have walked the entire race, reading the signs from spectators (My favorites were: “Worst parade ever!” “I like bloody nipples.” “Free beer at finish line!”), and getting my medal…that’s what it was all about.  Not my PR- I didn’t deserve it.image

Hopefully by the end of October I will be ready to catch my goal.  Watch out Monster Dash!  I am coming for you!

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Races, running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Minneapolis (half) Marathon Race Recap

  1. Ann says:

    At least you tried! I’m hoping I don’t break a leg in this Saturday’s Go Commando race.

  2. Ann says:

    Yep did this one last year. They have a few new obstacles (including allowing 16 + to register instead of 21+ – not too happy about that)

Leave a Reply

