Dear Run,

You and I seem to be on a rollercoaster ride these days.  One day we are down…barely scraping by to get in 7 miles…walk breaks…disappointment…struggles.  A few days later we are soaring high…9.5 miles and feeling strong…working hard…enjoying every stride together.

I know I have commitment issues.  I just can’t settle down with you.  I know you don’t like to hear this, but it needs to be heard.  I love Bike.  Bike makes me happy.  Bike and I don’t have many arguments.  We seem to just fit better together and let’s face it, Bike is more fun.

I know you feel used for your cross-training, but I do still need you at times.  I have paid to race you. And, how you transform my body during long sessions together is amazing and can’t be replaced.

I just can’t give you more than 2-3 days a week.  Someday I may feel differently, but I am committed to grow stronger with Bike right now. I hope you understand.

Please be kind to me in two weeks when we will be together for 13.1 miles again. Be by my side like an old friend. Support me. Do not let me fail. I really am counting on you for this one.

Thanks,
Kim

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dear Run,

  1. Occasionally biking can be a slog, such as when you are strenuously mashing the pedals uphill into the wind. But, by definition of the word, isn’t running almost always a slog?
    Ok, despite the desparaging remarks about running (which are intended purely as humor), I am proud of you simply for being out there and giving all your best. You rock!

Leave a Reply

