A day in the life…it is race season

Let me start by saying my laptop died 😦 So I am apologizing in advance for my lack of posts and my lack of blog material.  All my creative genius random ideas are stored on the laptop.

Weekend recap.

It was the official start of the race season (for Ryan anyway).  Saturday morning was the first road race of the year for him.  The day where you can officially gauge the effects of your winter training.

It was a typical  Spring Saturday here.  Ryan was up early and on the road to Durand, WI before the boys and I even thought about breakfast.  It was a lovely lazy morning….

I finally found the courage to venture outdoors around lunch time.  We headed to Lifetime Fitness so the boys could jump around and burn some energy while I conquered ran on the treadmill. I had 8 miles on my workout schedule for my long run.  I have to admit the thought of that many miles on the hamster wheel intimidated me.  How do some people manage 20 miles on those things? Crazy.  I had a plan.  Go up front, near the TVs, and speed up during the commercials to mix things up. (aka kill the boredom) It worked.  I felt great. The first 6 miles flew by…while I was dreaming of home remodeling projects watching HGTV 😉 I managed 7.5 miles at a 9:20pace.  Not bad.

I got my compression sleeves on and headed to coral the boys.  PS. I am addicted to these babies!  Try some.  You will not regret it.  

I found a boy with a swollen nose waiting for me.  Apparently he got a knee in the face while in the bounce house.  Knee-1, Rowan-0 

During our very late lunch (Am I the only one who can’t feed my kids at a normal time?), Ryan called with his race update.  He won!   He won!  First place in the Cat 4 race…WooHoo :-O

We celebrated with some snuggles.

It was a great day. Until I had to go to work.  Boo.

Can anyone find what’s wrong with this photo?

 *I have no idea why the font switched half way through.  I want my laptop fixed!!!!*

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling, running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

