Choosing the right path

The above picture is taken from my GarminConnect and gives a partial look at my 38 mile ride on Saturday.  It took me 2:09:53.  It was the longest solo ride I have ever done.  Seems small to some (my husband included) and probably seems long to others.

I think my farthest solo ride last year was around 32 miles.  I have ridden my bike farther, but only twice.  In the past, I have been a 20-25 mile kinda girl.  Last year did I go above that mileage- once at the Kickapoo Kicker for 100k and once at the Chequamegon 40 for an obvious 40 miles.

Saturday was great.   My Garmin says I burned around 2000 calories!   If I could do this ride twice a week (above my normal stuff), maybe, just maybe, I could lose a pound a week and reach my goal of losing about 10-15 pounds by the end of summer or sooner.

Why worry about a scale number?  Well, I am not.  I just want to be more fit.  Leaner.  Climb better.  Run faster.  These things all are accomplished easier with hauling around less weight.  Period.

This idea seems more fun than cutting out the extra calories 🙂  It is gelato season after all! 

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Choosing the right path

  1. Forrest says:

    How was the ride? Looks like you picked up a lot of speed in a few places… 😀

    Don’t trust Garmin’s calorie estimate too much. I think they inflate the number to make people feel better; having a product that makes people happy is good PR. I usually multiply the time I spent on the bike by about 600 kCal, and more if I do a lot of climbing.

    • The ride was great, but aren’t they all?! 🙂
      There was some climbing in places and some great flat roads where I could really get going.
      I don’t take the Garmin’s calorie count as completely accurate, but either way~ there were a lot of calories burned that day. AND at the end of the day, that is all that matters.

  2. velomom says:

    Have you tried Strava yet? I just got an account a few weeks ago and I love it. You just plug your Garmin in after the ride and log in (I use FB to log in) It has helped motivate me a little more on all my solo rides. I get back and see if I beat my time or others. I’m not sure it’s related but I’ve also lost about 5 lbs in the past few weeks:)

    • I haven’t tried Strava yet. My husband uses it and downloads all his info from his power tab on there. I have currently only been tracking my workouts on dailymile- but it seems to be more geared towards the running population.
      I might give it a try!

Leave a Reply

