New Day. New Plan.

By now you all know that I wasn’t given a coveted entry into the Chequamegon 40 this year.  (Yes, I am still talking about this!)

Yesterday the official rejection letter and returned checks were in the mailbox.  😦

Within the letter it stated that there were still a few spots left in the Short & Fat this year.  What in the hell is a “Short and Fat” you say?!  It was most definitely me a few years back. It is the 16 mile version of the 40.  Shorter, yes.  Fat, well no.  Not technically anyway.  It is the Chequamegon Fat Tire Festival.  Get it?  Short & Fat.  I digress…

So, what to do?  Do I try for a Short & Fat spot? Do I stick with my guns and hope my essay can gain me a 40 mile entry again like last year?  But what if my essay doesn’t win a spot?  Ugh.  Did I ever mention that I kind of stink at making decisions?!  Just ask Ryan, he will confirm.

Decisions.   Decisions.  Decisions.

The decision was made with a little bit of help from the folks in Hayward, WI to put in for a Short & Fat spot.  BUT, to also put in an essay for the 40.  If I win an essay spot, I can upgrade to the 40.  Please, oh please!!!!  If I don’t win an essay spot, than I suck it up and do the Short & Fat.  Either way, I am hoping it is a win, win situation.  (Meaning, win a short entry and win an essay entry!)

So keep your fingers & toes crossed for me.

I have this great new bike to show off this year.  It has got to shave off at least 20 minutes, right?!  Ok, that would only come with training.  Wouldn’t it be great if it was that easy?   

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

