13.1 number 3…final thoughts

Here I am.  Less than 24 hours before my third half-marathon starts.  I am filled with the normal pre-race emotions~  excitement, fear, anxiety, hope, and nervousness.  BUT the one thing I am feeling that is new for me is contentment.  I am content with my training.

I have done the work.  I have done the long runs.

My body has failed me on some runs and surprised me on others.

Who really knows what tomorrow will bring?  I have hopes, but no expectations.
I am going to run with this motto, “Magic happens outside your comfort zone.”—>

I will push outside my comfort zone, BUT remember to walk if my leg is screaming at me to walk.  I will race against me and me alone (okay, maybe the person who is just a few yards ahead of me!).

One thing is for certain…I will question my intentions when I get in my car and leave the driveway.  I will wonder why in the hell I am doing this?!

The jitters will hit me right when I get to the parking lot.  I will be freaking out on the inside, but quiet on the outside.  I will throw my “throw away” pants and sweatshirt in a pile on the grass.  I will eat a Gu.  One last porta-potty stop.  I will line up at the start.  Shoes check.  Music check.  I will tear up during the National Anthem.  And I will take off…

See ya at the finish!

 PS.  Good luck to Andrea on your first race!  So proud of you 🙂

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Races, running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 13.1 number 3…final thoughts

  1. Renee says:

    Good luck, Mama!!! You’re already a winner in my book!!! ♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

