9 Secrets of Motivated People

I read this article yesterday from Real Simple: http://www.realsimple.com/work-life/life-strategies/inspiration-motivation/secrets-of-motivated-people-00000000026714/page2.html

It is about real life strategies that help you accomplish your goals.  There are 9 “mantras” to help you stay on track.  Here is my take on them:

1.  When you make a plan, anticipate bumps in the road.
I am pretty good at this, but have to admit that sometimes those “bumps” really piss me off!  (Like getting sick before a race.    Work.  Kids.  Guilt.)  Basically it just is a reminder that life happens-  plan accordingly.

2.  Channel the little engine that could.
“I think I can. I think I can.”   I believe I whisper this throughout most my workouts.  Believe in yourself.  You truly are stronger than you think you are!  I need to remember this one every time I doubt my ability to run a marathon.

3.  Don’t let your goals run wild!
“Set goals that are a stretch but not an overreach.”  I actually am not sure I agree with this one.  Run Wild!  See above.

4.  Go public with it.
Make your intentions known!  It is one of the main reasons I blog about races, running, biking…it keeps me honest and it keeps me on track.  I most certainly don’t want to say I am going to run 3 half-marathons this year and then not do it!  Sure I could, but seriously, who does that?!    The more honest you are with yourself and the people around you, the more likely you are to succeed.

5.  Lean on support crew…
My biggest supporter is Ryan.  When I said I wanted to start mountain biking and race the Chequamegon 40 last year, he said “Great!  We need to get you a bike!”  I borrowed a friend’s bike and he made it work…new cranks, new seat post, new pedals, new handlebars, etc…  He not only wanted me to do this, he was my biggest fan.  There was nothing greater than hearing his voice yell, “Go Kim” when I was just around the corner  to the finish line.  He helped me train.   He put up with my whining.  He was more proud of me than I was of myself.

6.  Make yourself a priority.
Be selfish.  Put your needs first.  There is a reason that the airlines instruct you to put on your oxygen mask before helping others.  If you pass out from lack of oxygen, you are of no help to anyone!  Just like the airline instructions imply, in life you are of no help to your kids, spouse, friends if you are struggling within.
I know I am a better mom when I exercise.  I know I am a better wife when I exercise.  Endorphins are a good thing.

7.  Challenge yourself and change it up!
 It is hard to stay enthusiastic when things stay the same.  Mix it up!  I know (for me) that I couldn’t run every day.  I also couldn’t bike every day.  I need a change of pace and scenery for sanity sake.  I also know that the body needs to be challenged in new ways in order to grow stronger.  So, try new things.  Cross-train.  Be challenged!

8.  Keep on learning.
This seems obvious to me.  I am constantly reading about healthier ways to live my life.  I want to be the best runner, cyclist, mother, cook, wife I can be.

9.  Remember the deeper meaning…
This is something I should write on the top of my hand before every run.  I am so hard on myself sometimes.  I want every run to be a good run.  I want every bike ride to be fast and furious.  I want every race to be a PR.  BUT really all that matters is that I am doing it!

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling, Motivation, running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

