What should have been 10 was 7.52 instead…

…this seems to be the story of my life lately.  I plan on a long (to me) run and then something happens and I end up getting shorted on the total miles.  Yesterday it just got late and dark and cold and the whole run sucked- so why continue?!  I am so frustrated right now that I am contemplating buying this shirt—>

“I hate running.”  Seems a little harsh I guess, but WHY, oh WHY, does it just not get any easier?! Is it my lack of doing hill repeats, speed work, blah, blah, blah?  Shouldn’t I be able to just put on my shoes, put in the miles, and freakin’ improve?

Ryan says, “Of course you can’t get faster without intervals!”  I say, “Bologna!”  But he also thinks you should only run in circumstances like this—> Okay, in all honesty, I haven’t really given intervals a true shot.  I have done a little “speed” work on the treadmill- that is it.  Period.  I usually just run…kinda like the Nike saying “Just do it!” Or not 😦

The main thought going through my head yesterday was this—>

But yesterday, unlike other days when I am feeling sorry for myself, I quickly remembered why I was out there.  I said, “Self.  Today isn’t about you.  Today is about Sherry.”  It helped.  It help me get through the hills.  God, I hate hills!  It gave me a purpose when I didn’t want to leave my warm house.  It reminded me that I could run.

I wasn’t able to join in the worldwide support for Sherry’s family and run on Saturday, but yesterday I could and I did.  I ran, because I am a runner, mother, wife, daughter.  I ran to help bring something good out of this horrific situation.  I ran to overcome fear.  I ran to train.  I ran in hopes that Sherry did not suffer and is now at peace.  I ran for the human connection.

Here is a great video about Sherry and the virtual run that took place on Saturday around the world:   

Did any of you participate in the run on Saturday?

Do you do drill work and intervals?

Will this running thing ever get easier?  OR should I just retire and focus on the bike?  Ryan you are not included in this survey!  🙂

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What should have been 10 was 7.52 instead…

  1. Ann says:

    Well, you are doing better then me. I just ran three miles at a 6.3 pace for the first time on the treadmill this weekend. I don’t have the time or motivation to go much faster or go longer so I just have to be happy I’m doing more then a lot of people.

Leave a Reply

