Sautéed Garbanzo Beans- oh my!

Every once and awhile you do something so simple, and it just turns out amazing!  I love that.  For instance, I never would have thought to sauté garbanzo beans.  BUT I am so happy I did 🙂  You have got to try it.  Crunchy on the outside.  Buttery on the inside.  YUM.

Here is how you do it—>
Take a small amount of EVOO- about 1 Tablespoon- and heat in small pan.
Once the oil is hot, add 1 can of garbanzo beans (rinsed of course).
Sprinkle with sea salt and ground pepper.
Add a little squeeze of fresh lemon juice.  (not necessary but good)
Sauté for about 5-7 minutes.  Stirring or shaking the pan every few minutes.

Here is what they look like when they are done—>

These are the two recipes I used them in so far.

GARBANZO BEAN WRAP:

Tortilla or pita bread
Sautéed beans
Shredded carrots
Fresh parsley
Red onion
Sprouts or pea shoots
Avocado
Plain greek yogurt mixed with a squeeze of fresh lemon juice

GARBANZO BEAN SALAD:

Green leaf lettuce
Green onion
Avocado
Tomato
Sautéed garbanzo beans
Cucumber
Kalamata olives

Dressing- EVOO with a squeeze of lemon and salt and pepper

I added a little grilled chicken to the top, but you could certainly use this as a vegetarian dish too.

Enjoy!

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in B is for beans, detox, lunch, Salad, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sautéed Garbanzo Beans- oh my!

  1. Ann says:

    I have a can sitting in my cupboard. I will have to try this. I also have a recipe for sweet and salty ones. I haven’t gotten Henry to eat them yet, but maybe in a wrap. Don’t you wish we could grow avocado trees here? I want a mango tree too.

    • Ryan and I were just talking about growing avocados- he seems to think we could do it inside, but I am doubtful! My wish list of trees are: avocado, mango, lemon.
      Rowan isn’t really a huge fan of banzo beans or beans in general but he eats them in wraps. I give him the avocado, cannellini bean wrap for school once a week and he loves it. Carson is my vegetarian boy- he would live off beans and veggies and fruit if I let him.

  2. andrea millette says:

    ive got to try these!!

  3. Pingback: Thank-detox | spinningitall

Leave a Reply

