Let the DETOX begin

I started a TEN day DETOX today.

Here is the plan for the next 10 days:

NO fried foods, refined sugars, corn or white starches, or bread.
NO wheat products.
NO dairy! (cheese, yogurt, milk)
NO alcohol.

EAT lots of veggies!
EAT fruits! (low glycemic is best apples, grapefruit, berries)
EAT healthy fats. (avocado, nuts/seeds, olives/olive oil)
EAT clean protein! (tuna, salmon, eggs, chicken, no processed lunch meats)
EAT clean carbs sparingly.  (oats, rice, hummus)

DRINK A TON OF WATER!

An example of meals/snacks for a day—>
UPON WAKING: drink 8 ounces of water with 1T added fiber  (I am using Metamucil.)
BREAKFAST:  smoothie (1 banana, 1 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1/4 cup PB, 1 handful of spinach, a little water and ice-  makes 2 servings.)
MORNING SNACK:  2 hard-boiled eggs and some nuts
LUNCH:  spinach leaves topped with canned tuna, cannellini beans, tomato, avocado, carrot shreds, drizzled with EVOO and fresh lemon juice
AFTERNOON SNACK:   berries and nuts OR rice cake with PB
DINNER:  salmon and fresh steamed veggies
LATE NIGHT SNACK:  piece of fruit or some veggies and hummus

*Drink water with meals and in between meals!

The original plan is also to eliminate ALL caffeine.  I can NOT and will NOT do this.  I work 12 hour night shifts and have two small children – I would die without my coffee.  OR at the very least I would fall asleep at the nurses station or never get out of bed in the morning to take my kids to school :O  

What do I think will be the hardest part?
NO alcohol and NO dairy.  I do enjoy a glass or two of wine at the end of the day (see above, I have two small children!), and I do LOVE my plain Greek yogurt and granola snack.  BUT, I can do this!

Most of the plan is not that different from the Unprocessed October plan I did.  Cut out processed crap and your body will thank you!

Who is with me?

 

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in detox. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let the DETOX begin

  1. Pingback: Day 11—> Thankful to be done!!!!! | spinningitall

Leave a Reply

