Are we racing? Yes, yes we are!

Come on, you know you do it too?  You hit the treadmill at the gym and immediately do a scan of all the other treadmillers (Okay, not really a word, but it should be!) around you.

Are they running?  If so, what speed?

I particularly get discouraged by a couple of older gentleman that seem to always be running around the same time I am (Which is crazy, since I never go to the gym at the same time!)…they have got to be in their late 60’s (or older) AND they are freakin’ fast!  (to me) They maintain a 7.0mph pace and run at least an hour every time I see them.  DAMN!  I can barely get to 6.4mph most days and maintain it for that long.   Note to self-  work harder!

I also like to scope out the people who I think look super fit and see what pace they are going.  I think to myself, “If they can look that good and are only going 6.0mph, then I am certainly going to look that good too. I am going 0.4mph faster!”  Am I right?!  Okay, okay- they probably don’t drink a drop of alcohol, eat zero bread or cheese, and have just finished an hour on the stairmaster before they started running.  Note to self- drink less alcohol and do longer workouts!

Moral of the story:  There really isn’t much to do on the treadmill at the gym and I get bored easily 🙂 So, yes, I will race you, but mainly I am racing against my self.

*I will also race you at spinclass.  At least in there, I have a chance 🙂

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are we racing? Yes, yes we are!

  1. Love it! I do the same thing. I was in awe at the girl next to me on Wednesday who was pulling 10mph for over a mile. I was starting to wonder if the belt really went that fast. Im faster on the bike too!

Leave a Reply

