To Detox or not to Detox

A great way to start 2012 is with a little detox.  I don’t know about you, but I feel a little less than great after the holiday indulgences and for some reason, this past December’s lack of exercise.  I found this smoothie recipe on Pinterest and it was filled with great-for-you ingredients and is also considered a “detox smoothie”!  So I decided to give it a try.
1 banana                              
1 apple
1 handful of parsley
2 1/2 cups of water
1/2 cup blueberries
1 cup kale

Place in blender until smooth.  It is a green machine of detox!

There are a bunch of other great smoothie recipes here:
http://www.wholeliving.com/152126/7-detox-smoothies/@center/152870/2012-whole-living-action-plan#/107905

Have you ever done a detox or cleansing diet?
The closest I have come is doing the Unprocessed October Challenge.  I have considered getting really serious and eliminating more than just processed foods, but haven’t really found a great place to start or one specific plan that I loved and would be committed to.  Mainly because they all seem to involve giving up caffeine…I CANNOT and WILL NOT give up my coffee!  That would be just ridiculous 🙂

I have done limited research on the topic but here are two pretty solid plans I found (both of which say no caffeine- hmph 😦 )

http://www.wholeliving.com/134319/action-plan-detox-foods-eat-foods-avoid
AND
http://www.totalcyclingperformance.com/2011/10/30-day-nutrition-challenge/

Ryan and I have done a semi-modified plan of the totalcyclingperformance.com challenge.  BUT, I have a hard time giving up fresh fruit, honey as a sweetener and of course, the coffee part.

Anyone have any thoughts on detoxing?  Let me know.  I would love to hear your advice.

Are you as addicted to coffee as we are?!

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

