Thankful Thursday 2012 Edition

I can’t even begin to tell you what a whirlwind of emotions I have had the past week… sad, happy, excited, disappointed, encouraged to name a few.

We had a great Christmas in my hometown with my Mom, brothers and their families last week.  I was able to spend time with family, get in a couple nice runs around my old stomping grounds, (Isn’t it amazing how things look so different now that we are older?  I mean the “big sledding hill” at my elementary school is so small, I don’t even know how a sled went anywhere, much less down and “fast”?!), BUT the best part about being home was seeing the new memorial that was put up for all the veterans.  I had no idea this existed and it was very cool to see my Dad’s name up there on that wall.  Check it out:

I managed to pick up a nasty cold while at home, which has turned my life upside down the past week.  I had to leave work early one night.  I couldn’t get as festive as I wanted on NYE, but most of all, I missed my first race of 2012.  See my pity post here.  Instead of starting 2012 with a 6.2 mile run and a 10k PR (It would have been my first one 🙂 ), I spent the first 3 days of 2012 on the couch.  BUT I am thankful for my health, so I will respect my body in 2012 and give it rest when it needs it.  (I just may whine a little while doing so!) I did manage to cough my way through a spin class yesterday- so all is right with the world again.

It also can’t hurt to wake up to this message:  Thanks Ryan!  

I am thankful for a fresh start.  I am going to try to really feed my body well in 2012.  I am going to respect my aches and pains and rest if I need to.  I am going to be the best me I can be.

Happy Thursday!  Be the best version of you that you can be today!

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful Thursday 2012 Edition

  1. Renee Hall says:

    Beautiful tribute to the vets and especially your Dad! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

