Barefoot vs Vibram

I saw this in the comics this morning (Yes, I still get a newspaper!  Do not judge me.  I like having a cup of coffee and reading the paper.  Plus, when they offer you a deal where you can get the paper Wed-Thurs-Fri-Sun for $2.00/ year, why wouldn’t you?!)~

AND then I started thinking…”Do people really run barefoot in the winter?”  I can barely keep my toes warm in my winter wool running socks and shoes!  I did a little searching and found this guy~So people do run barefoot in the winter!  Huh?! You learn something new every day.

Have you tried barefoot running?
Only in the grass around my back yard when I was practicing my running form.  This was a dangerous task, dodging dog poo, and left me thinking barefoot was not for me! I am too germ phobic.  AND the thought of all the crap alongside the road like broken glass, rocks, sticks, and other unmentionables I have seen makes me cringe.

Have you tried the Vibrams?
No, but I would.  

Could you use either of these in winter?
I like winter running, but no way would I do either of these.  Like I said, my toes get cold in wool socks and shoes!  

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Barefoot vs Vibram

  1. I have a pair of vibrams that I like, but they take a little getting used to. You have to start with like a quarter mile and work your way up, but I like them. Of course I live in Florida, so the cold is not a big issue.

  2. pam says:

    i think that guy running in winter hardly qualifies for winter! that looks like southern Ill winter, certainly not central MN! Well maybe in Sept 🙂

    • Pam, if you read his blog, he actually does run in snow and cold temps (under 20 degrees)~ Yikes! I didn’t read a ton of his stuff, but I doubt he is running in -4F like I did last winter with naked toes.

Leave a Reply

