Some kids’ cereals pack more sugar than a Twinkie

You have got to read this:
Some kids’ cereals pack more sugar than a Twinkie.

We all know the benefits of a good breakfast:

  • Improved concentration and performance
  • More strength and endurance to engage in physical activity
  • Reduced hunger throughout the day and aids people in make better food choices throughout the day

So why do so many people fall back on sugary junk?  Especially for the children?  I can’t tell you how many times I have seen kids walk into my sons elementary school with a Pop Tart or even worse a Nutter Butter in their hands.  Who sends a 6 yr old to school on a candy bar diet?!  No wonder kids can’t concentrate or sit still in class.   Oh but wait, I am sure they will get a nutritional lunch at school (insert sarcasm here).

I am far from perfect on the breakfast front for my own kids.  They have cereal (usually Kashi Go Lean, Oatmeal Squares or Mini Wheats) with fresh fruit 3-4 days a week.  We are trying to cut this back to maybe 1-2 days at most.  I think ZERO days would be best!

Don’t get me wrong—> I LOVE cereal.  I like donuts.  I LOVE bagels and cream cheese.  Heck, I went to highschool most mornings with either a donut or a toaster strudel in hand. (You know the ones with the white frosting you put on after it was all toasted- that was some good crap.)  BUT now that I have immersed myself with nutritional knowledge, I would never want my kids sent off to school in the mornings with that in their bellies.

We are making a movement (with our kids) towards eating eggs and toast with fresh fruit or steel-cut oatmeal with fresh fruit.  I like the idea of having some protein at breakfast, but haven’t found any creative ways other than eggs or an occasional smoothie at this point. I suppose some breakfast links or bacon would work, BUT then I am super picky about the additives and nitrates involved.  Note to self~ get to the Farmer’s Market this weekend to get the good stuff!

A healthy breakfast meal should contain a variety of foods, including fruits, vegetables (I am not great at this unless I add spinach to my eggs or my smoothie), whole grains, low- or non-fat dairy, and lean protein.

Even if you think you don’t have time to eat breakfast, here are some quick and easy ones to try:

  • A veggie omelet and a piece of whole-wheat toast
  • A whole-wheat English muffin with cheese, a scrambled egg, and slice of tomato
  • Smoothie made with fruit, protein powder, and yogurt
  • Whole-grain cereal with fresh fruit and low-fat milk
  • Oatmeal made with raisins, nuts, and bananas (my stand-by)
  • Yogurt with homemade granola and fruit
  • Hard-boiled eggs and a banana
  • Scrambled eggs with spinach and beans topped with salsa and fresh fruit on the side (my new favorite)

What do you eat for breakfast?

What do you feed your kids for breakfast?

What do you think about Wheaties Fuel having as much sugar as a Twinkie?

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in breakfast, Healthy meals, Kids Meals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

