You are only one workout away…

…from a GOOD mood!

When you exercise your body releases chemicals called endorphins.  These endorphins interact with receptors in your brain that trigger a positive feeling in your body.  That feeling known as a “runners high” is often accompanied by a brighter outlook on life.  AND who doesn’t need that?!

This time of year while living in the cold MN weather brings about a little bit of seasonal depression in a lot of us.  I know I am not as ready to jump out of bed and start my day.   Starting in December, my bed looks comfier.   The quilt on my couch starts calling my name, “Kim come lay down and read a book.” (aka take a nap)  My road bike starts collecting dust on the top tube. (I really do need to get on the indoor trainer!  Ryan promises me we can listen to tunes and he will wear a headband and give me props for working hard.  Ha!)  My running shoes sit by the door and wonder why in the hell I would want to venture into the frozen tundra and run.  (I am committed to one longish run outside per week from here on out.  The treadmill and I can only handle about 45-60 minutes together.  AND in all honesty, I want to poke my eyes out from boredom after 30 minutes.  I digress.)

WHY exercise?  Well…I need it.  I need it for my sanity.  I need it for my health.  It makes me a better mom.  It helps me control my frustration when the kids starts yelling or playing loudly.  I am a better wife because of it.  I am a better me. Period.

Regular exercise has been proven to help:

  • Reduce stress
  • Ward off anxiety and feelings of depression
  • Boost self-esteem
  • Improve sleep

Exercise also has these added health benefits:

  • It strengthens your heart.
  • It increases energy levels.
  • It lowers blood pressure.
  • It improves muscle tone and strength.
  • It strengthens and builds bones.
  • It helps reduce body fat.
  • It makes you look fit and healthy.

So get out there and DO something today.  It will make you happier, I promise. 

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling, running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment