Stuffed Apple Pie

OH MY are these little treats heavenly!

I found the recipe on Pinterest (Check it out here.) and HAD to make them.  Let me start out by saying that apple pie is not my favorite pie; in fact, I am not a huge fan of pie.  BUT these little things are great.  It is a must try.

Cut off lids of 6 apples.  Using a sharp knife and a spoon carve out the apples to form bowls.  I actually found my melon baller to do the best job at gutting the apples.  Add a squirt of lemon juice so the apples do not brown.

Set aside the pulp.

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and set the apples on top of it.  Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.

To the pulp~ add these ingredients per apple

  • 1 T raw sugar
  • 1/2 T flour
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

Stir to combine and place pulp mixture back inside the apples.

Using either homemade or store-bought pie crust.  Roll out crust onto cutting board.  Using a cookie cutter cut out tops for the apples.  Make a few holes in the top to let air escape. * I used a pre-made crust and doubled up on the crust to get the thickness I wanted for the topper.

Bake for 30-40 minutes until tops are golden brown.  Sprinkle with powdered sugar and serve.

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

