Guilt, a 5-letter word

I was catching up with friends  wasting time on FB this morning when I came across this status update from Endurogirl, “Feeling guilty about what you did or didn’t do yesterday doesn’t help you achieve your goals today.”  SO TRUE!

Why do I stress out about taking 2 days off of exercise over the weekend?!  It is NOT going to make me any slower in the long run.  It is NOT going to shatter any goals that I have.  I am not a professional runner or cyclist.  I am not going to win any races.  I am just doing this all to…well do it!  BUT yet, I still feel GUILT.

GUILT that I couldn’t fit in that one little 4-5 mile run on either Saturday or Sunday.

There really was no good reason that I didn’t do it.

I was just lazy. (Lazy should also be considered a bad 4-letter word.  Don’t you think so?)

It is SO hard to find motivation after working a 12 hour night shift, especially when it is cold and gets dark so early.  (Um, it was dark at 4:20pm! 😦 )  Usually I wake up around 2-3pm, have a cup of coffee and a small snack, get a little snuggle time in with the boys and hit the door running.  NOT this weekend.  The snuggles just felt too good.  SO my butt stayed on the couch.

I will not feel guilty about snuggling with my boys.  NOPE.

Thanks Endurogirl for giving me a reality check.  I will do my 4-5 mile run today!  AND it will be fast 🙂

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

