Put your feet out there!

I don’t know why the life gets sucked out from beneath me at this time of year, BUT it does.  It is dark too early (and very soon even earlier *sigh*).  There is an all too familiar chill in the air, and a sky that looks like it could snow instead of rain.  It happens to me every year when I am transitioning from all outdoor workouts to almost all indoor workouts.

I mourn riding my bike with the trees, trail, sky as my backdrop.  I have to give in to listening to someone else’s idea of great workout music and start doing drills…speed, climbing, endurance in spinclass.  OR even worse, I have to get my run in on the dreadmill… I am not sure how anyone could torture themselves more than running on that machine?!  I have met people who prefer the treadmill to the outdoors, BUT seriously, I just don’t get it.  I hope I never do.

I am contemplating signing up for the Team Ortho Marathon Series in 2012 just to get motivated and have a routine again.  It would mean committing to 4, yes FOUR, half-marathons in 2012!  (One Jan.  1st, one in March, another in June, and the last one in October.)  WHY?  Well, having an outdoor race in January and March FORCES me to run outside for my “long” runs at least once a week no matter what the weather.

This past January I ran my first “half-marathon“, and it was great (plus the weather was perfect, sunny and 20 degrees).  I had lots of cold training runs along the way(think sub-zero with double-digit wind chills) BUT I really LOVED them all.  It got me outside and feeling alive.  It also took me completely out of my comfort zone.  I hate cold weather and I had never ran that far before.

That is the thing about running, or biking for that matter…YOU will NEVER regret working out once you are out there doing it!

How do you stay motivated during the winter?

Do you like treadmill runs?

…Gotta go!  Spinclass starts in 45minutes 🙂

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

