Have you ever been sucker-massaged?

I was sitting lying at the chiropractor office getting some work done on this stupid injury, when out of the blue, I get sucker-massaged.

What is sucker-massaged?  It is a very smart term made up word by yours truly for when you think you are about to get a good, deep massage that will make you feel like, “Ahhhh” afterwards.  AND THEN out the blue, it is a deep, not so good, horrible massage that makes you feel something so deep inside that you want to throw up and push their hands off you and punch them.

Okay, I would never punch her or him (Did I mentioned this happened more than once today, by two different people!) BUT holy crap, my gut reaction was to wriggle my hips like an 8 month old getting a diaper change and push them away.

That was the first time in my life where I actually could say that I felt pain similar to a contraction.

WHAT in the world was I having done?  Getting my psoas muscle massaged.  WORST thing ever!  Okay, maybe the worst thing ever is knowing I will have to do it again, and again, and again if I want to get better.  UGH!  I may need to pre-medicate before my next appointment.

I want to get better.  I know that my body is SO off right now.  BUT I miss running.  YUP, I said it.  I miss running.  This is something I NEVER would have thought I would say, BUT here it is out there for the world 6 people who actually read my blog postings to see.

Yes, I am whining. I am mad.

Yes, I can still run(but I have been limiting the miles to 3-4 and keeping the pace slow) and I can ride my bike.  BUT I have been trying to take more days off than on the past 2 weeks to heal. This makes me crabby—>

Yes, I will get better and stronger and faster for treating my injuries now versus later. (Let’s face it.  I have been putting this off long enough already.)

Yes, I may need to wear soft wrist restraints before the next person touches my left psoas again 🙂

 

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling, running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have you ever been sucker-massaged?

  1. Pingback: Pumped up Kicks Thursday! | spinningitall

Leave a Reply

