Kids + Bikes = FUN!

Saturday, October 1st is Take a Kid Mountain Biking Day

IMBA will celebrate its eighth annual International Take a Kid Mountain Biking Day this weekend. This is a great opportunity for you to pass your passion for pedaling on to kids!

Ryan and I started this tradition last year and took the boys to Lebanon Hills in Eagan, MN.  It was a blast!  I actually did a trail run behind the train (Ryan- Rowan-Carson) just to help Carson up some of the hills with a little push when needed.  BUT, as soon as we were done with our first loop, I was addicted and ready to start mountain biking myself.

The boys absolutely LOVED it!  It was a turning point for me.  I went from strictly roadie to longing for the off-road challenge.  I saw the look of joy in my boys faces (Ryan included) and figured this was a great way to get exercise as a family.  We have since taken them back to that same trail several times.  Each time it gets easier for them and more fun! (Okay, there have been a few falls that turned into tantrums, but overall it is fun.)  The best part is that I can ride with them instead of running behind the bike train this year 🙂

If you have kids that like to ride their bikes, you should take them out on the trails this Saturday.

Here are TEN tips to make the day a success:  http://www.imba.com/tkmbd/10-tips-take-kid-mountain-biking-day

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

