Fruit roll-ups

I started reading http://thislunchrox.com/ for healthy and creative lunch ideas for Rowan’s “bag” lunch a few weeks ago.  I am addicted to it.  This woman really knows how to make lunch fun.  You definitely need to check it out if you have kiddos in school.

I was reading one of her posts and it included a recipe from http://mariahealth.blogspot.com on how to make your own fruit roll-ups.  Interesting idea…I thought I would give it a whirl.

You can find the recipe here—> http://mariahealth.blogspot.com/2010/06/fruit-roll-up.html OR just see my modified version below.

Strawberry/orange fruit roll-up~
4 cups whole strawberries
1 orange
1/2 cup water
(Maria’s recipe calls for 4 T of Just like sugar. I didn’t use any “sugar” in mine…didn’t need it. I would think a little honey would work well though too.)

Place strawberries and orange in blender or food processor.  Blend until smooth and add water.


Place mixture in a saucepan and bring to a simmer for 10-15 minutes.

Lightly spray a large cookie sheet with coconut oil spray (I am wondering if parchment paper may work?!) and pour mixture on sheet.  

Turn oven to 140degrees and dehydrate for 8 hours. *Make sure to keep the oven temp low enough so you don’t bake the fruit, just dry it.

*I will whole-heartedly admit that my first batch was a flop.  The second time around 1 1/2 of the cookie sheets turned out.  I have not found the perfect pan size yet, but I will keep trying.   Next time I am gonna experiment with parchment paper too.

These are actually healthy for your kids.  I prefer the taste too 🙂  The “real” fruit roll-ups are terrible for them. You may be surprised to see what’s on this list of NINE foods to AVOID giving to your children.  Check this out—>
http://www.time.com/time/specials/packages/article/0,28804,1824402_1824398_1824388,00.html

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Kids Meals, lunch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fruit roll-ups

  1. Ann says:

    I wonder if I could use parchment paper in a food dehydrator? I like the ideas and presentation on This Lunch Rox, but I think by the time Henry opened his lunch it would never look so pretty.

Leave a Reply

