Word of the day: earmuffs

I am thankful for earmuffs.  Yup, you heard it right, earmuffs.  You know the fuzzy covered contraptions that keep your ears seemingly warm in the winter without the messy hair a hat leaves behind—>

BUT in this case, I am speaking of the ones designed for noise reduction!  Holy crap my kids are LOUD!  I think that they have to be so quiet at school all day that when it is time to play at home- the volume is turned up.  (You may think I am kidding, but I actually pulled out a pair of these babies and put them on today.  If anything, it made the boys laugh and stop yelling  playing for a few brief moments.)—->Are your kids louder after school?  OR is it just so quiet in the house now when they are gone that it just seems louder?  Hmmm.

I do really miss them when they are both gone, but man am I thankful for the 3 hours of freedom I have gained!  I have successfully made the most out of these hours this week.  Monday, I went mountain biking with a girlfriend for an hour and 45 minutes.  (I also didn’t fall at all- small success!)  Wednesday, I went out on the road bike for 30 miles and finished it up with a quick 1 1/2 mile run.  (I wanted to get one last brick workout in before my duathlon next weekend.  This was not the best transition practice, because I came inside to grab the dogs to come along for the pain fun.  BUT it was a long ride and a quick run anyway.  Poor babies barely had a chance to pee on the route!)I am also very thankful that as the boys get older, things get easier.  I have been an Interbike widow this past week.  I have to say that this has been the easiest Interbike week for me in the past 6 years.  Sure they are loud, but there are no diapers, no sleepless nights, no inconsolable crying.  All in all, my boys are fun!

The boys zonked out after our weekend at Chequamegon 2010

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

