Sucking air

Holy crap the air is thin here!  Every year I am amazed at how much more of an effort it takes for me to just breathe.  Breathe.  Seems like a simple task, you say?!  Not at 10,200Ft above sea level.  The smallest task (ie climbing some stairs) makes me tachypneic (elevated respiratory rate) and tachycardic (elevated heart rate). Riding a bike, well it is difficult, but running is impossible.

I am T-minus 5 days until my second half-marathon.  I have only ran once since on vacation last Thursday and it was only 2 miles.  Um, this could have been a bad plan.  I had fully intended to run at least 4-5 miles while we were in CO, but then I got caught up in learning how to mountain bike.  AND let’s face it, that is a hell of lot more fun than running!

I heard from a few of my running friends that their pace was about 2 minutes slower than normal while at altitude.  Discouraging at best.  I set out yesterday to tackle 2 miles at 9600ft elevation.  My goal was to remind my legs how to run again- it worked!  I ran the first mile at 8:59 and the second at 9:15.  The first mile felt great, but it was kind of downhill.  The second mile was torture.  I was breathless.  I wanted to quit and just walk…but instead I finished what I set out to do.  I did stop along the way a few times to take some amazing pictures though (aka catch my breath).  How in the world could you not want to exercise if you lived here?  No wonder Colorado has the lowest BMI of any other state.  It is just amazing here.   Let’s hope the high altitude biking over the past few days will help me pull off this half marathon under 2:00:00.  I better get home and start running again 🙂

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling, running, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

