TAPER~ music to my ears

I am officially in the taper phase of training!

I completed my last long run yesterday-  11.73 miles, pace 9:25, total time 1:50:54.  The first two miles were great- maintaining under a 9:00 pace.  Miles 2-7 felt like hell 😦  I don’t know what was going on, but it was a serious effort to keep my legs moving and keep my mind from giving in to the temptation to stop.  Miles 7-11.75 were pretty good again averaging a pace below 9:15.  I had to play a lot of mind games with myself…telling myself over and over again that this was the last hard effort before the main event in 2 weeks.

Some of you have asked what my half-marathon training plan was—>

http://running.about.com/od/racetraining/a/basichalf.htm

And just in case you are wondering what tapering means or why it is important—>

http://www.marathontraining.com/marathon/m_taper.html  (summary below)

Many runners fail to realize that one of the most important aspects of marathon or half-marathon training is the taper phase. Reducing weekly and long run mileage during these final two weeks is vitally important so that you will be fully recovered from previous workouts while at the same time, be completely rested on race day.

You should cut back on the distance and intensity of your runs during the two-week period prior to the marathon, eliminating long and hard efforts.

Listen to your body. Remember, there are no workouts the week prior to the marathon that will enhance your preparedness for the race. An important rule of thumb is “Less is Best”, particularly if you are feeling either physically or mentally tired and your leg muscles are fatigued and achy.

Keep stretching as much as possible. AND

HYDRATE!  HYDRATE!  HYDRATE!

My goal is out there~  I want to finish under 2:00:00.  Will I?  Who knows!  I will give it my best effort that is for sure.  I refuse to let anything left on the course!

I am so excited for the next 10 days of just running without an agenda, but more so to spend some time focusing on mountain biking.  I will be heading to CO for some high altitude “training” and fun tomorrow-  no place better to learn how to mountain bike than in the mountains right?!  Let’s hope so 🙂

****I will try to update my blog now and again while we are away, but I am not making any promises.  This is my once a year vacation without my children after all 🙂

 

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

