Without the destination I’d probably not take the journey

…and that is why I sign up for races!

I would have been content running 2-3 miles, but then I would have never known that after mile 3-4 (for me) it gets easier (physically not mentally).  I could have stayed in my safety zone and just done casual 15-20 mile rides, but then I would have never felt that burn you get deep in your glutes when you push yourself hard on your bike.  That burn is what makes cyclists have such great butts 🙂 and really, who doesn’t want a great butt?!

Some days I am harder on myself than I should be.  I set out on a run with a particular goal or pace in mind and then get down on myself when I didn’t reach it.  BUT WHY DO I DO THIS?  Every day is different after all~ the weather, the amount of sleep, poor or great nutrition, stress, soreness, etc…  I just need to remind myself now and again about how far I have come in this journey.

Two years ago I was training for my first duathlon.  I could run 2-3 miles, but it took some effort.  I could ride my bike 20 miles, but never did much more than that.

Last year, I could run 3-4 miles, but the 4 mile days were seldom and felt very “long”!  I could ride 20 miles easily, and did an occasional 25-30 mile ride, which afterwards I felt wiped.

Here we are today.  I have completed a half-marathon.  My “long” runs are now 8-12 miles and a “short” run is 3-4 miles.  A “short” ride is 20 miles.  I have completed a 100k bike ride and can easily do 30 miles and feel great after.  At the beginning of May I considered a run under a 9:30min/mile fast.  Now I try to pace myself to stay under 9:00min/mile if I am running under 6 miles.  (I try to stay around 9:00-9:30 on my “long” runs, but let’s face it, that does not always happen or is not always easy to do.)  I lose mental capacity around mile 8 and it is often a struggle from that point on.

I need to remind myself that I am not a professional racer.

I am just out there doing it.

It is supposed to be fun.

I will set out to run my own races!

Set a destination and take the journey!

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling, running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

