Presto, fresh herb pesto!

GARDEN HERB PESTO SAUCE

INGREDIENTS~

1/4 pine nuts
2 garlic cloves
2 cups fresh herbs (basil, mint, parsley)
1/4 cup EVOO
1/4 cup fresh parmesan cheese
sea salt and pepper

Combine the pine nuts and garlic in food processor~Next add in the herbs and pulse until coarsely chopped~Add 1/4 cup of EVOO and process until smooth (you may need a little extra oil)~Fold in the parmesan cheese, sea salt and pepper~Cook your favorite pasta~Voila!  Dinner is ready.If storing pesto in freezer, transfer to air-tight container and drizzle with EVOO.  It will keep for up to 3 months.  It is a great way to use up your basil at the end of the garden season, and a delicious mid-winter treat that reminds me of summer on a cold winters day.

*PS.  Your kids will love it too 🙂

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Healthy meals, Kids Meals, pasta, Sauces and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Presto, fresh herb pesto!

  1. Renee says:

    STOP…making me hungry!!! (LOL)

  2. Kelly Nelson says:

    Hi, Kim! Just wanted to let you know that I love reading your blog! I appreciate your yummy & thoughtful recipes and I absolutely admire your devotion to health & fitness. Keep it up 🙂

  3. Kelly Nelson says:

    We are doing the Blubber Run in Sept & Monster Dash in Oct. Blubber Run is just a 5K & really fun (beer focused!) , you should check it out! Monster Dash is a 1/2 & I hear it’s great. Neither of us have done more than a 7K, so we need to get running 🙂 Chris did the Warrior Dash this past wknd & it was a muddy good time! How about you?

    • I am doing the 13.1 Minneapolis on Aug. 21, Chequamegon Fat Tire 40 on Sept. 17th, and Iron Girl Duathlon on Sept. 25th. I have thought about the Monster Dash 1/2 but I am waiting to see how I feel late September when all my training comes to a head! Plus, Team Ortho usually offers a discount at the Iron Girl expo 🙂

    • I wanted to do the Warrior Dash, but I switched my schedule at work and it landed on my weekend. I was also afraid of slipping in the mud, getting injured and then being out for the rest of my races :O It looked like a blast!

Leave a Reply

