Weekend warrior

Okay, my goal for the past weekend was:
Friday- bike 20, run 2
Saturday- run 4
Sunday- run 10
Monday- bike 30

My actual workouts went more like this:
Friday- bike 17.3 (pace 17 mph), run 2 (pace 9:00)
Saturday- run 3.8 (pace 8:56)
Sunday- run 9 (pace 9:37)
Monday- rode around the block a few times with the boys and rode to the gelato shop for an after dinner treat 🙂

So, all in all, I did what I set out to do.  Today was kind of a wash, but the boys needed some quality Mama time and they LOVE it when Ryan and I ride our bikes with them. The best part is that they are finally getting strong enough to keep up a decent pace for a few miles.  I LOVE THAT!

My thighs were screaming at me after my run yesterday.  I did 3 days of running in a row and that is a huge no-no to me.  I normally try to alternate with biking as much as possible.  My body just needs time to recuperate after a run, especially a long run.  (“Long” run being relative.  To me, 9 miles is long.  To a marathon runner, 20 miles is long.  To me a year ago, 4 felt long.) So instead of pushing my body further than it needs to go, I decided to take a rest today.  My legs were telling me to stretch, do a light ride, and some yoga. This is what I did.  I still have one more night shift left at work to get through after all 😦

It is great to set goals, but you have to listen to your body.  If you are having pain, take it easy.  No one needs a stress fracture or any other preventable injury for that matter.

My goal for my half marathon is 2:00:00.  I am not extremely confident that I can maintain a 9:15/mile if it is hot.  I will still TRY my best to do it, but it may not happen this time around.  I am SO inconsistent with my run times lately (see above).  I have thought about running with the pacer at this race to try to keep my pace steady.  I have my doubts about that idea… have any of you ran with a pace group?  Any suggestions?  Do I need to talk to them or can I still chill and listen to my tunes? Do they run through the water stops or do they account for this time in the GOAL time?  HELP!

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling, Races, running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

