Ryan’s Chequamegon essay- also a winner!!!!

By:  Ryan

A little delayed, but I am more than willing to share my entry.

This entry was inspired by my wife and muse, Kim Hall (@Spinningitall);

C hildren
H ave
E xplicit
Q uantifiable
U nequivocal
A bsolute
M alleability.
E xamples
G o
O stensibly
N oticed

There are many compelling reasons that I’d love to race the Chequamegon 40 again this year.
First, I have always enjoyed it in the past, and consider it one of the most enjoyable and rewarding physical challenges that I’ve yet participated in. I have continued to improve my finish time over the years, but seem to have really “hit my stride” finishing 102 overall (bib 797) last year. Seeing that progress really makes a person want to continue to challenge himself to reach his true potential.
Secondly, I have always enjoyed the support of my lovely wife during events like this, but am very proud to say that she has been inspired to race it too! (Please let her give it her best!) We took our 4 and 5 year old boys to Lebanon Hills to try the beginner loop to introduce them to mountain biking last Fall. I rode as an example and Kim ran with them to help on the hills, etc. Everyone loved it! When we finished, her remark to me was, “well, I think I need to learn how to mountain bike, because if you and the boys are going to be doing it, I don’t want to sit on the sidelines.” How cool is that?
And last, but certainly not least, is the justification implied by the acronym above. My wife and I try extraordinarily hard to make fitness and health an everyday part of our lives, as much for our children as for ourselves. We hope that by making it such a constant part of our daily existence, that our children learn it’s importance both through open dialogue and subliminal understanding. We have even tried to make it easier for others to improve their outlook toward healthy living, healthy eating, personal challenge,family, and life balance on my wife’s blog at Spinningitall . I want our children to see that even when we think we can’t do something, or that something might be very difficult, we still give it our best and work to overcome and achieve!
So, please let us race! Thanks in advance.

Best regards,
Ryan

P.S. I thought this would be more compelling than a video of me break-dancing to an “auto-tuned” song written about the Cheq Fat Tire 40.

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling, Races. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ryan’s Chequamegon essay- also a winner!!!!

  1. Renee Hall says:

    LOVE THIS!!! You are both AWESOME and I’m not surprised you both made it!

Leave a Reply

