Hit a slump

In the words of Dr. Seuss:

“I’m sorry to say so but, sadly, it’s true that Bang-ups and Hang-ups can happen to you. You can get all hung up in a prickle-ly perch. And your gang will fly on. You’ll be left in a Lurch. You’ll come down from the Lurch with an unpleasant bump. And the chances are, then, that you’ll be in a Slump. And when you’re in a Slump, you’re not in for much fun. Un-slumping yourself is not easily done.”

I have been in a workout SLUMP this past week.  I don’t know if was the excessive heat and humidity- but holy crap, I haven’t been this unmotivated for months.  Maybe unmotivated is a bad choice of words, it was really a matter of bad prioritization.  I did not prioritize biking and running this week.  Now I am feeling guilty and beaten 😦

I am not a morning work-out warrior.  It takes everything in me to get up at the crack of dawn and run or ride.  I am an afternoon or early evening kind of gal.  Unfortunately, my schedule and Ryan’s schedule doesn’t always allow for such freedom.  FACT:  I NEED to just get moving early some days.  FACT:  I NEED to go to bed before 1200am in order to accomplish this.

I am coming to the end of a bad week and now headed into a tough weekend, where I work the next 4 days in a row.  I already took 3 days off this week.  No excuses- I will have to have the next 3 days be golden.  So here I am world!  I am giving you my workout plans for the next few days.  If I write it here, I am accountable.  I will not fail.  I will, for lack of better words, “Get ‘er done!”

Friday (today)- bike 20 miles, run 2 miles
Saturday- run (maybe 4 miles, maybe 10 time and weather permitting)
Sunday- run (10) or bike (if I run 10 on Saturday, then a bike ride is on the schedule)
Monday- bike 30 miles

Those are my goals.  What are you doing this weekend?

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in cycling, running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hit a slump

  1. Renee Hall says:

    Uh…I’ll be grooming and clipping 3 pups in 98-degree temps on my deck. Can’t have the city slickers visit their country cousins looking unkempt! Will burn off MANY calories I’m sure but not through running or biking sadly!

Leave a Reply

