Turn off your Angry Birds App

and Start EXPLORING Minnesota!

Those were the words I read on the side of a Metro Transit bus this morning on my way home from work.  It made me 🙂

I have heard the following statements from my co-workers a few times over the past weekend, “How do you find the time to exercise when you are working 12 hour shifts all weekend?  I can’t even find the time on my day off!”  AND “I just don’t have the time to cook. How do you do it?”

FIRST of all, exercise is my priority.  Sure, first comes God, Family, etc…but you know what I mean.  If I have to choose between 6 hours of sleep with an hour of cardio or 7 hours of sleep, I will choose the one with cardio.  That ONE hour of cardio will make me feel more refreshed and give me a better attitude throughout the entire day (and night) than a hour of sleep ever could.  (Let’s face it.  I am working 7p-7a.  No matter how much sleep I get, I will be tired.)

It is always a little challenging finding the time to fit in some longer workouts during my 4 day (night) stretch at work.  This weekend I was able to do the following:
Friday-  14 mile ride (49 mins)
Saturday-  mowed the yard for 1 1/2 hours (not really working out but moving)
Sunday- 7 mile run (65 mins)
Monday- 18 mile ride (61 mins)

S U C C E S S !

The statement of “How do you find time to cook healthy?” really irritates me.  If I can make this blog do anything, I want to prove that making healthy meals does not take time or talent.

It takes the same amount of time to make this~AND this~(Brats take 5 -10 minutes to boil in beer and another 5-10 on the grill.  Grilled salmon takes 15-20 minutes to grill.  You can chop some veggies while it’s cooking and toss it on top of some lettuce.  A simple vinaigrette is:  EVOO, splash of balsamic, 1 tsp of honey, dash of cayenne, sea salt and pepper.)

If you don’t believe me, try it!  PLEASE.   Your body will thank you 🙂

Make eating healthy a priority.  Make exercise a priority.  You won’t regret it.   I promise.

 

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Healthy meals, Salad. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

