t-h-a-n-k-f-u-l

Sometimes these “Thankful Thursday” posts are the most difficult for me to write.  I am so thankful for so many aspects of my life that it seems almost impossible to narrow them down to just a few favorites every week.  Often the things I am most thankful for may seem very insignificant to the average reader, but to me, they are golden moments.

Moment 1~  Rowan just said to Carson, “Hey, why are you sad?”  Carson: “My arm hurts.”  Rowan:  “Oh, I am sorry.  Do you want me to kiss it?”  Carson:  “Sure.”  Rowan (after giving his brother’s arm a big smooch):  “I know that is Mama’s job, but sometimes I like to help you feel better too.”  ***This is a golden moment.***

Moment 2~ Climbing 6700ft and finishing the Kickapoo Kicker 100K route.  I can not tell you how badly I wanted to throw in the towel and just get sucked up by the SAG wagon at certain points of this course.  100K and 6700ft of climbing is nothing to some of you, but to me it was very challenging.  It was the hardest thing I have ever done (athletically).  There was this moment when I was half way up a climb and stopped alongside the road, my legs just could not go any further without a break.  I sat there and kept looking up to the top of this hill thinking, “Holy crap I just want out of this thing.”  Then this 60-70 year old woman went by me…this was a golden moment.  “If she can get up this thing, dammit, my 37 year old legs can too!”  I got back on my bike and kept on trucking, knowing there would be a great downhill in my future 🙂

Moment 3~ Ryan gave me a Garmin for my birthday a few weeks ago.  I have been struggling with figuring this device out.  I think I made it into something more complicated then what it actually is.  When I am running, I want my pace and mileage, period.  When I am riding my bike, I want my speed and maybe mileage, period.  Ryan’s advice is “read the manual.”  I honestly did.  (Normally I don’t and just try to figure the stuff out on my own.)  I finally contacted Garmin support and they sent me a detailed email on how to program my watch to do just what I wanted it to. (This info was not in my manual by the way.)  YEA!  This was a golden moment.

Sometimes it is the little moments or things that make our lives GOLDEN.  

Make some moments today!

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

