Machu Picchu, I miss you so

There used to be this little Peruvian restaurant on Lake and Lyndale in Minneapolis called Machu Picchu.  Ryan and I went there for date nights and special occasions- it was without a doubt our favorite place to go for seafood.  We would get this dish called Sudado de Pescado con Camarone, which was fresh fish, shrimp and scallops in a spicy seafood broth made with tomatoes and onions and cilantro served over Basmati rice.  I cannot even begin to tell you how delicious this dish was…it makes me salivate just thinking about it.

They also served the best calamari in the Twin Cities and fried plantains.  It was a no-brainer if we wanted a quiet romantic dinner.  Unfortunately, as many restaurants often do, it disappeared…leaving an aching hole in my stomach for the spicy seafood goodness and a tug at my heart string for no longer having that “off the beaten path” romantic go-to place.

I have been craving the Pescado con Camarone for weeks and decided to try and make it at home.  Be patient with me.  I did not have a recipe.  I just had my taste buds and luckily some fresh seafood on hand 🙂

Here is what I came up with—–>
2 T EVOO
1 yellow onion, chopped                                           
2 cloves garlic, minced
~Saute in saucepan until onions are softened.
1 jalapeno pepper, diced
1 tsp cumin
1/2 juice of lime
1 tsp oregano
2 tsp cayenne pepper (more to taste)
sea salt and pepper
~Add to pan and saute for 1 minute.
1 can diced tomatoes (I think 2 garden fresh would be better)
1/2 can clam juice
1 handful fresh cilantro
1 small can tomato paste
1/2 cup white wine
~Add to pan, mix well and bring to slow boil.
1# fresh white fish
1/4# fresh shrimp
2 large bay scallops
~Place seafood on top of tomato mixture and cover with lid to steam.  
~Cook until fish is flaky and scallop is white throughout.
~Serve on top of Basmati rice.

This was great, but it is a work in progress to perfect it.  I want it to taste exactly the same.

Is there anything that you attempt to make at home from your favorite restaurant?

Any ideas on how to make this taste more authentic Peruvian?

About spinningitall

Join me as I try to spin it all; work, family, exercise, healthy living, and healthy eating. Perhaps we can learn together. Hilarity is certain to be involved.
This entry was posted in Fish, Healthy meals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

